January 30

The Liar 

By Hovhannes Tumanyan 

Once upon a time there was a king. This king declared all over his country: “Anyone who tells such a lie that I say it is a lie, I will give them half of my kingdom.” 

There came a shepherd and said: “Your majesty, my father had a cane and he could reach the stars in the sky with it.” 

“There may be such a thing”, answered the king, “My grandfather had a pipe so long that he put one end in his mouth and lit it with the sun.”  

The liar went out puzzled. 

There came a tailor and said: “I am sorry for being late, my king, I was to come earlier. It rained a lot yesterday, lightning struck, the sky was ripped up, I had to go and mend it.”   

“Well, good of you”, said the king, “But you didn’t mend it well. It rained a little this morning.” 

This one went out too. 

There came in a poor peasant with a pan under his arm. 

“What do you want, man?”, asked the king. 

“You owe me a pan full of gold, I have come for it” 

“A pan full of gold?”, the king got surprised, “You are telling a lie. I don’t owe you any gold.” 

“If I am telling a lie, then give me half of your kingdom” 

“No, no, you are telling the truth”, the king changed his word. 

“If I am telling the truth, give me a pan full of gold” 

 

to tell the  truth-ճիշտ ասել․

o tell a lie-սուտ ասել․

have to-ստիպված լինել․

to get surprised-զարմանալ․ 

 

1. The man had to tell a lie to get money for living. (to tell a lie)
2. The poor peasant didn’t want to believe his friend. (poor)
3. I asked him to tell the truth. (to tell the truth)
4. He owes some money to the bank. (to owe)
5. Many people have to live poor life today. (have to do something)


Posted January 30, 2023 by semhovhannisyan in category Անգլերեն

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*